purple pen

Recent Projects
Descriptions & Feedback

purple pen


2008 Workshops & Projects

2009, 2007 2006, 2005,2004, 2003

 

2008

 

     
chart cut
Brooks & District Victims' Assistance Association
Board Development Workshop
Brooks, Alberta
October 15, 2008
  • Thank you for your expertise!  You have made a challenging task enjoyable.
  • I enjoyed the presentation very much.  It allowed me to focus on what is important and what I could foresee as our goal.  It gave me confidence that our goals will be reached.  Thank you.
  • Format of this seminar is the best I have seen/ participated in.
  • Best thing that could have happened at this time in VSU’s history.  Dilemma fixed.
  • Very Visual.  Excellent thought/ discussion promoting questions.
   
Youth Conference Chart cut

”You’re the Difference!” Conference
ALBERTA CHILREN AND YOUTH SERVICES YOUTH STRATEGIES BRANCH

October 18 – 20, 2008
Kananaskis, Alberta

Graphic Reporting

Youth intorduce the mural
   
AHLN Mural

Alberta Healthy Living Network

October 2008

Info-Mural
Illustrating the new plan

cut form mural
   
Laurie tells the story of the Chart

Career Pathing in Saskatchewan Health Care
Syposium 2008

Saskatchewan Association of Health Organizations

October 7, 8, 9, 2008
Saskatoon Saskatchewan

Graphic Reporting

mural cut
   
the Three Sisters

Corporate Customer
Oil and Gas sector

October 2008
Canmore, Alberta

Live Graphic Recording and World Cafe Facilitation

  • This was a very unique process, and one that I found to be very useful.
  • Superb!! I have never seen anything like that before. Actually,
    one must see it to fully appreciate the impact.
  • Would have never thought anything like this would work but
    WOW it was fantastic.
  • I loved this. I thought Laurie and Rob did an excellent job of
    graphically recording our conversation and of facilitating the World Cafe.
   
The Board of Directors

Taber and District Housing Foundation

September 27, 2008
Taber, Alberta

Strategic Planning

  • Very good recording of ideas and information that was useful now and for the future. Good leading of discussion.
  • Facilitators created a relaxed atmosphere that encouraged everyone to participate and contribute to discussions. Well done.
  • This was a great process! Lots of thinking, sharing of ideas and focusing on the specific needs of our group.
   
conference team

IFVP Chicago 2008
The International Forum of Visual Pratitioners Conference
August 2008

Laurie was Conference (virtual) Chair
Rob is the IFVP President

www.ifvp.org
Our Info-Mural on IFVP's site

Rob and Laurie in ChicagoRob explains the chart
   

Lethbridge Housing

Summer and Fall 2008
Administrative Assistance

 
     
chart

CASS
College of Alberta School Superintendents

July 2008

Info-Mural
Illustrating the new plan

  • Certainly appreciated the visual record but also very much appreciated the high quality of facilitation.
  • Very well done – excellent process.
  • I am pleased with the accomplishments of the group in 1.5 days, due to your facilitative process. You kept us on our toes, engaged and on task.
  • The facilitation process was relaxed; yet we were kept on track
   
group work

CASS
College of Alberta School Superintendents

June 2008
Edmonton

Strategic Planning

  • Effective process to focus on both strategic and tactical topics. Good work!
  • Day was intense. Facilitation kept us moving even when over whelming. Love the visuals. Excellent dynamic duo. Thank-you very much.
  • Wonderful process and terrific outcomes. Wonderful working with you again!
   
EDL Plan Mural

Economic Development Lethbridge

April 2008

Lethbridge
Info-Mural

Illustrating the New Board Planning Initiative

     
chart

Crime Prevention/Youth at Risk
Grasslands FCSS

June2008
Brooks Alberta

Group Processes

  • Love the visuals.  Great facilitating by Laurie & Rob.  Great networking opportunity. 
  • World Café great chance to talk about what Brooks needs.
  • The illustrative part of this was very helpful. 
  • Great!  The facilitator’s were so impressive – they informed themselves to help us work towards our own solution – a form of community empowerment and showing us the light.  Enjoyed the pictures too

*** after the workshop, Brooks successfully applied for and recieved
two Federal Government Grants ***

   
sets

Joesph's Technicolor Dreamcoat
Medicine Hat Firehall Theatre
Volunteer Set Painting

set painting
   
group working

Alberta Public Health Association

June 2008
Calgary

Input Session

chart
   
staff input

Lethbridge Housing
Operational Planning a Staff Discussion

May 2008

Lethbridge
Group Processes

  • Great way to include feedback from everyone. Very well facilitated
  • kept things moving and interesting. I’ve never seen this kind of facilitation before but I really enjoyed it.
  • Thank you for leading us through this process in non-threatening environment – great to share with colleagues – morning flew by!
   
EDL Lethbridge Graphic Mural

Economic Development Lethbridge

April 2008

Lethbridge
Group Processes

  • One of the most successful and engaging vision-building sessions I have taken part in.
  • Mural was a great way to keep us engaged in the process. Laurie and Rob kept the flow of the meeting going and kept us focused on why we were here.
   
CNP Youth Speak out

Crowsnest Pass
Youth Speak Out

April 2008

Crowsnest Pass, Alberta
Group Processes

  • Good group cooperation
  • It helped condense all the responses into productive goals
  • I thought we brought the beginning of change
  • Comfortable Talking to people I never got to before I had a lot of fun!
  • Everything was great!
   
graphic group facilitation

Medicine Hat Catholic Board of Education

April 2008

Medicine Hat, Alberta
Group Processes

  • The goal of the presentation was met. We were able to discuss and identify needs and work towards goals.
  • Excellent skills at pulling it all together. – captured our thoughts well. Very visual.
  • This was a great way to see how everything is coming together!
  • Made me understand my committee and organization better. Gave me a ‘wow’ moment – now I see how it all works!
   
mural cut

Alberta Child & Family Services
Region 2

March 2008

Medicine Hat, Alberta
Visioning Workshop

Leadership Team visioning

  • Excellent workshop. This was a great way to bring us together.
  • This was a great session. It really helped us map out our areas of concern and will help us move forward.
  • Very helpful. Taking many concepts and ideas and brings clarity to the issues. This will be most helpful for our organization. Thank-you.
   
mural cut

International Forum of Visual Practitioners
a professional organization for people who do graphic work.

Volunteering:

  • president, (Rob)
  • conference committee chair (Laurie),
  • co-web master (Rob)

Working through virtual tools with other team members from around North America.

Virtual tools including: VOIP (skype), virtual graphic recording and exchange, and on-line discussion and file sharing through Group-Hub.

   
mural cut

ASBOA
Four Partners Meeting
Edmonton, Alberta

March 2008
Group Processes

  • Great capturing and generation of key ideas. Interesting, stimulating, engaging.
  • Created a very comfortable environment – the group was open. Great job!
  • Excellent facilitation – keeping folks on task – focused discussion.
  • Kept us on task and made it enjoyable.
   
mural cut

Corporate Customer
Alberta

Vision Mural

March 2008
Info-Mural

A graphic to help explain the Organization's Vision to staff and other stakeholders

   
group working

Family Ties (Lethbridge)
Group Strategic Planning
Lethbridge, Alberta

March 2008
Strategic Planning

  • Great use of flipcharts & iconography. Very effective method of communication & recall after the event.
  • Excellent. Informative. Excellent facilitators.
  • Very good process, interesting, knowledgeable. Love the drawings. Kept us interested.
  • Never bored! Very thought provoking! Very nice facilitators with great qualifications & talents.
   
chart

Canadian Parents for French
Group Strategic Planning
Edmonton, Alberta

planning workshop
February 2008

  • Very good job with a group with a pretty wide level of background and expectations.
  • Enjoyed the overall message/agenda. Graphics awesome and well-appreciated. Well done with difficult situation or things that were not made aware of.
  • Graphically a terrific way to get this job done and has given us a manner in which to proceed in the future.
   
sets

Beauty and the Beast
Medicine Hat, Alberta

Rob and Laurie took on set design and decoration, as volunteers for
Medicine Hat Firehall Theatre


February 2008

lair
   
chart

Aboriginal Health Workforce Forum
Edmonton, Alberta

three graphically facilitated large group conversations

input sessions
February 2008

Conference evaluations
   
HSSA

HIV Society of Southeastern Alberta
Medicine Hat, Alberta
one year program review

January - February 2008

Evaluation Process
   
chart

Lethbridge Housing
Lethbridge, Alberta
Board planning

planning workshop
January 2008

  • Very good facilitation of this planning workshop. The visual impact helped to keep the group focused.
    Steve Whittington, Chair, LHA Board
  • Very good facilitation of this planning workshop.
    Sheila Ferguson, Board Member
  • Excellent facilitation of this planning workshop. Rob/Laurie work well with keeping a large group focused in why we were here today.
    Lesley Ferguson, Board Member
   
coaldale

Town of Coaldale
Coaldale, Alberta

Council planning

planning workshop
January 2008

  • I look forward to moving forward with this new focus -
    Don Wentz, Town Councilor
  • Excellent Facilitation – way to run the communication –
    Vic Mensch, Town Councilor
  • Great Workshop – this is what we’ve needed for some time -
    Leo Ludwig, CAO
   
chart

Community Partnership Enhancement Fund
Region 2
Medicine Hat, Alberta
partnership planning

planning workshop
January 2008

  • The process of achieving strategic priority statements was useful, enjoyable, but got a bit bogged down at the end. Good job.
  • Thanks, this was very helpful. The process was easy, fun to watch and kept me engaged.
  • Love the artwork – effective use of time – tidy/neat – painless.
  • Creative means to encourage those who are quieter to speak up.
   
group meets

Medicine Hat Realestate
Board Cooperative LTD
.
Medicine Hat, Alberta
Board planning

planning workshop
January 2008

  • Great Job – very much enjoyed your help
    Lorne Krause, President
  • Wonderful way to focus on tasks at hand, summarize key points and develop action plans. Thank-you!
    Jennifer McKenzie, Director
  • I enjoyed how you helped our board prepare for 2008.
    Richard Carrier, Executive Director
   

CNP Youth

Crowsnest Pass
Family and Community Support Services 'FCSS'

Crowsnest Pass, Alberta

Planning for youth conference in the Crowsnest Pass
planning workshop
January 2008

  • Awesome media and good facilitation of ideas.
  • Loved the artwork. Great at time keeping. Redirected to keep on topic.
  • Love the graphic facilitation (helps me stay “into” the discussion). Love the ideas and organization. I felt we accomplished lots.
  • I think that the things we did today are really going to help and make our day a success.

More..2007,2006, 2005 and 2004 back to 2002

back to the top


All pages © Robert Benn and Laurie Benn 1998 to present
The Positive Culture Company
home page
privacy policy

#320 - 97 Carry Drive S.E. Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada T1B 3M6
Phone: (403) 526-1616
E-mail: vp@positiveculturecompany.com

Pre+Schoolers CD
Aquariums
Snow Sculpture
Wildlife Friendly Backyard Walk Medicine Hat Orca Camp

(: ---------- Webpages built and maintained by us! ---------- :)